top of page

Meet kathryn

Kathryn Bruno, MT-BC, SWT

Kathryn@NewAdventuresCounseling.org

The person

Hi, my name is Kathryn (she/her/hers). I was raised in North Carolina but have called Cincinnati home since 2009 after moving here to start my career as a music therapist. During that time, I have done my best to acclimate to Ohio sports, Cincinnati cuisine, and have developed a love for the city and our community. I enjoy spending time outdoors; whether it's taking my dog for walks, kayaking the Little Miami, or relaxing in my hammock with a good book. I am also passionate about music and fill my down time by attending concerts around the city or playing my favorite tunes on guitar, ukulele, and piano. My love of music led me to my career as a music therapist and to using music to support children and adults navigating the difficult moments in their lives. 

The clinician

I have been working clinically since 2009 as a board-certified music therapist in medical and mental health settings. I began my career working at a pediatric hospital, primarily working with children and families with cancer. I later transitioned to a partial hospitalization program for adults and adolescents with eating disorders, anxiety, and depression where I lead music and traditional therapy groups. My experience has given me opportunity to work with folx individually and in groups, as well as gain experience with therapies like Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT). Witnessing the incredible impact of these therapies inspired me to return to school in pursuit of a master's in social work. 

 

As a creative arts therapist, I believe in the importance of experiential therapy, which is why I am thrilled to be interning at New Adventures Counseling. My work with clients will be based on their strengths, interests, and goals, which may (or may not) include traditional verbal therapy, music therapy, and Adventure Therapy as I learn the modality. I received my undergraduate degree in music therapy from Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina. I am currently pursuing my master's in social work at The University of Kentucky. 

bottom of page